Welcome to Germany's Largest Geopark


It reaches from Wolfsburg in the north to Allstedt in the south. Wolfsburg, home of VW, has only been known by that name since 1945. At Allstedt Palace, a stop on the Romanesque Scenic Route in Saxony-Anhalt, Thomas Muentzer delivered his famous 'Sermon to the Princes' in 1524. This marked the beginning of the Modern era, in which people are no longer bound to display unconditional obedience to authority. It is people that are the focus of UNESCO Global Geoparks. An understanding of how the landscapes that they live in, or use for recreation, were created requires taking a look at their geology.

Geotopes are windows into geological history: natural formations that communicate knowledge about the development of the planet, and of life itself. Within the borders of the 9,800km2 Geopark Harz – Braunschweig Region – Ostfalen there is a dense concentration of such geotopes. Their extraordinary diversity provides insights into all periods of the Earth's history.

Where the Harz Mountains rise out of the lowlands of the Braunschweig Region, we find an area of the Geopark known as the 'Classic Square-Mile of Geology'. Rich in natural resources, including ores and salt, with fertile soils, plentiful supplies of wood and water power, this area of the Geopark was a centre of power during the Holy Roman Empire. The Imperial Residence in Goslar and other royal estates, like those at Poehlde, Tilleda, or Werla, are reminders of this. One thousand years later the region became a centre of industrialisation and also of plant breeding. The Association of German Engineers was founded in Alexisbad, in the Harz, in 1856.

Apart from being an area of industry and research, with the Julius Kuehn Institute (Federal Research Institute for Crops) among others, today the Geopark is one of the most important travel destinations in Germany. The nature parks in the Harz, and the Elm-Lappwald Nature Park, form extensive recreation areas. The Brocken is, at 1,141 m asl, the highest mountain in both the Geopark and the Harz National Park. Young people from all over the world study within the Geopark at the universities and colleges in Braunschweig, Clausthal-Zellerfeld, Halberstadt, Nordhausen, and Wernigerode. Culture is alive and well here!

Offices of the Geopark are located in Quedlinburg, Hohe Strasse 6 (Regionalverband Harz), and in Koenigslutter, Niedernhof 4 (Geopark Sponsors Association, Braunschweig Region – Ostfalen). The two authorities are sole partners in the Geopark Harz-Braunschweig Region-Ostfalen GbR (a non-commercial civil law partnership), which is the sponsor of the UNESCO Global Geopark of the same name.

Willkommen im größten Geopark Deutschlands

 

 

Er reicht von Wolfsburg im Norden bis Allstedt im Süden. Die Autostadt in Niedersachsen trägt ihren Namen erst seit 1945. Auf Schloss Allstedt, Station an der durch Sachsen-Anhalt führenden Straße der Romanik, hielt Thomas Müntzer 1524 die legendäre Fürstenpredigt. Sie markiert den Übergang zur Neuzeit, in der das Volk der Obrigkeit gegenüber nicht mehr zum bedingungslosen Gehorsam verpflichtet ist. Menschen sind es auch, die im Fokus der UNESCO Global Geoparks stehen. Verstehen, wie die Landschaften entstanden, in denen sie leben oder sich erholen: das erfordert einen Blick auf deren Geologie.

Fenster in die Erdgeschichte sind Geotope, sind Bildungen der Natur, die Erkenntnisse über die Entwicklung der Erde und des Lebens vermitteln. In den Grenzen des 9.800 km² großen Geoparks Harz ⋅ Braunschweiger Land ⋅ Ostfalen ist die Dichte solcher Geotope groß. Hinzu kommt deren außergewöhnliche Vielfalt. Sie ermöglicht Einblicke in alle Erdzeitalter.

Wo sich der Harz aus dem Braunschweiger Land heraushebt, gilt ein Teilgebiet des Geoparks als die Klassische Quadratmeile der Geologie. Reich an Bodenschätzen, darunter silberhaltige Erze, wegen der fruchtbaren Böden sowie der  Verfügbarkeit der Energieträger Holz und Wasserkraft war das Gebiet des Geoparks ein Machtzentrum des Heiligen Römischen Reichs. Die Kaiserpfalz Goslar und weitere Königspfalzen, darunter Pöhlde, Tilleda oder Werla, erinnern daran. Ein Jahrtausend später war die Region dann sowohl ein Zentrum der Pflanzenzüchtung als auch der Industrialisierung. In Alexisbad im Harz wurde 1856 der Verband Deutscher Ingenieure gegründet.

Außer als Industrie- und Forschungsstandort, u. a. mit dem Julius Kühn-Institut (Bundesforschungsinstitut für Kulturpflanzen), ist die Geoparkregion heute eines der wichtigsten Reiseziele in Deutschland. Naturparke im Harz und der Naturpark Elm-Lappwald sind ausgedehnte Erholungslandschaften. Der Brocken ist mit 1.141 m über NHN zugleich höchster Berg des Geoparks als auch des Natur- und Nationalparks Harz. Junge Menschen aus der ganzen Welt studieren im Geopark an den Universitäten und Hochschulen in Braunschweig, Clausthal-Zellerfeld, Halberstadt, Nordhausen und Wernigerode. Hier lebt Kultur!

Die Geschäftsstellen des Geoparks finden Sie in Quedlinburg, Hohe Straße 6 (Regionalverband Harz) und Königslutter, Niedernhof 6 (Geopark-Trägerverein Braunschweiger Land – Ostfalen). Beide Verbände sind alleinige Gesellschafter der Geopark Harz ⋅ Braunschweiger Land ⋅ Ostfalen GbR, die den gleichnamigen UNESCO Global Geopark trägt.